Skip to content

Another Step Forward

Tuesday, August 14, 2012

Well, I’ve made a little more progress in setting up my site here. I added a few of my short stories and they are now accessible through the menu under the banner. (It took me a while, and a fair bit of experimentation, to learn how to set this up.) I also updated my About page(s), but they’re still pretty rough. More improvements coming in the future! The three stories I’ve posted are the ones I submitted to Writer’s Digest 2011 Short Short Story Competition (1,500 words or less). I didn’t win anything, but I would still love some feedback. Here’s a little info about each story.

This is sort of how I pictured Flash.

Flash View is a story written from the viewpoint of a greyhound rescued from the racetrack. This started out as an exercise entitled “Smart Pets” from The 3 A.M. Epiphany by Brian Kiteley. I made an effort to view the human world through a dog’s understanding, putting things in terms of how a dog thinks (as I understand canine thoughts, which I’ve mostly learned by watching The Dog Whisperer and other shows in Discovery and National Geographic). Only readers can tell me how successful I’ve been.

Acid Lunch started out as an exercise (from the same book) called “Friendship.” Unlike what the title implies, it supposed to present a skewed view of friendship. You’d have to read the whole exercise discussion and prompt to understand completely, but in a nutshell, some people use friends to advance their own ends. I’ve known such people, and here is a composite personality and the situation in which she embroils her friend.

I’ve always wanted to go up in a hot-air balloon.

Chasing Rainbow is a story about chaos. It too started out as an exercise from the same book, called “Serious Slapstick”. Basically, a situation which is both dramatically serious and frantically funny. For those hot-air balloon experts, I’m sorry if I got details wrong. I did what research I could, but I didn’t have a living brain to pick, only websites.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Thursday, August 16, 2012 7:51 am

    I’d like to read “Acid Lunch” – I have known people of that ilk as well.

Leave a Reply

The Mercenary Researcher

It's all about the backstory

Write About Dragons

Brandon Sanderson 2012 Creative Writing (and other misc...)

Talkin' Shit

A little bit of everything, from a man that knows nothing

Online Home Library management

Catalog and share your home library online

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

